HOW THEY VOTED: House approves continuing resolution to fund government, defund Obamacare

2013-09-20T12:48:00Z 2013-09-20T13:07:05Z HOW THEY VOTED: House approves continuing resolution to fund government, defund ObamacareRobert Harding | Auburn Citizen
September 20, 2013 12:48 pm  • 

The House of Representatives approved a continuing resolution Friday to fund the federal government through mid-December and cut off all funding for Obamacare. 

The roll call vote for the $986.3 billion CR, H.J. Res. 59, was 230-189. All but one Republican voted for the continuing resolution. Two Democrats also voted for the short-term spending bill. 

U.S. Rep. Dan Maffei, D-Syracuse, joined his Democratic colleagues in opposing the continuing resolution. Five New York Republicans voted for the bill. U.S. Rep. Richard Hanna, R-Barneveld, did not vote. 

House members debated the CR for more than an hour, with Republicans voicing their approval for the measure to fund the federal government and to cut funding for President Barack Obama's signature health care law. 

House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, R-Va., said the spending bill would protect Americans from the "devastating effects of Obamacare." 

"Each week, we hear stories about how both major employers and small businesses are cutting back benefits and cutting back hours. The president's health care law is turning our full-time economy into a part-time economy," Cantor said in a floor speech. "Even the heads of major unions who were once so supportive of Obamacare want to see this law drastically changed to avoid further 'nightmare scenarios'.

"Let's defund this law now and protect the American people from the economic calamity that we know Obamacare will create."

Following the vote, Republicans held a rally and Speaker John Boehner, R-Ohio, urged the Senate to act on the House version of the CR.

But on the other side of the aisle, Democrats criticized the bill put forward by their Republican colleagues. 

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif, said the continuing resolution "is a measure designed to shut down government." She voiced her displeasure with cuts in the bill and also slammed the GOP's repeated efforts to repeal Obamacare.

"You know what that's about? That's about putting their friends — the insurance companies — back in charge of medical decisions for your families," she said. 

House Minority Whip Steny Hoyer, D-Md., also took a swipe at Republicans for adding a provision to defund Obamacare in their continuing resolution proposal. He labeled the GOP's CR as a "blatant act of hostage-taking." 

"Today we are considering a measure to fund government only if the Democratic Senate and the Democratic president will agree to dismantle the health care reform law that will help millions of Americans access quality, affordable care," Hoyer said. "That isn't going to happen." 

With Friday's vote, the stage is set for another showdown between the House, Senate and President Obama. Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev., tweeted, "Republicans are simply postponing the inevitable choice they must face: pass a clean bill to fund the government, or force a shutdown." 

The Senate's version of the continuing resolution will likely remove any language that defunds Obamacare, even though some conservatives and Republicans are calling on GOP senators to filibuster if that happens

Regardless of any Senate action, the Office of Management and Budget said Thursday that President Obama will veto the House version of the continuing resolution if it advances to his desk.

The House and Senate will be in session next week. An agreement on the continuing resolution must be reached before Oct. 1 to avoid a government shutdown. 


Here's how the New York delegation voted on the continuing resolution: 


Rep. Chris Collins (R), Rep. Chris Gibson (R), Rep. Michael Grimm (R), Rep. Peter King (R), Rep. Tom Reed (R)


Rep. Tim Bishop (D), Rep. Yvette Clarke (D), Rep. Joseph Crowley (D), Rep. Eliot Engel (D), Rep. Brian Higgins (D), Rep. Steve Israel (D), Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D), Rep. Nita Lowey (D), Rep. Dan Maffei (D), Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D), Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D), Rep. Gregory Meeks (D), Rep. Grace Meng (D), Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D), Rep. Bill Owens (D), Rep. Charles Rangel (D), Rep. Jose Serrano (D), Rep. Louise Slaughter (D), Rep. Paul Tonko (D), Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D)


Rep. Richard Hanna (R), Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D)

Copyright 2015 Auburn Citizen. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick