As communities prepare to vote on school budgets next month, districts throughout Cayuga County are also gearing up to host elections for open school board positions.

The deadline for candidates to submit petitions for school board seats has expired in eight of the nine districts that are part of the Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES. The deadline for candidates in the Auburn Enlarged City School District is Wednesday, May 1.

Here's a breakdown of the candidates in each local district:

  • The Cato-Meridian Central School District has three open seats in the upcoming election and all three candidates are incumbents. Kathleen Bratt, L. Lee Epprect and Todd Kacur are all running for another term.
  • In the Port Byron Central School District, two seats need to be filled this year. One candidate, Susan Sealy, is an incumbent and the second is newcomer Roger Sevilla.
  • Moravia Central School District has three open seats and there are three incumbents - Steven Lefave, Karin Dillon and Steven Fland - running for consecutive terms.
  • Four candidates are competing for three seats in the Southern Cayuga Central School District. Incumbents Ann LaFave, Susan Gloss and Larry VanDeValk are all running for another term and newcomer David Harvatine is also running.
  • Incumbents Christine Cuff, Daniel Test and Barry Schwarting are running for the three vacancies in the Union Springs Central School District.
  • Weedsport Central School District has just one seat to fill, and newcomer Martha Baker is the only candidate for the spot.
  • The Jordan-Elbridge Central School District will fill three open spots for the upcoming year from five candidates. Incumbents Roger Hill, Michael Jorolemon and Brian Richardson will all run for another term and newcomers Glenn Fried and Patricia Baum are also running.
  • In Skaneateles, five candidates will vie for three open positions. Only one incumbent, Thomas E. Lambdin, is running for another term. The other four candidates are Doreen E. Bianchi, Geralyn Hulba, Rhonda Fabrizio and Margaret Usdansky Niebuhr.

In Auburn, where the deadline for petitions is next week, three seats will be open. So far, one incumbent, Dia Carbajal, is running for another term and former board member William Andre and newcomer Andrew Roblee are also running for the vacancies. 

Staff writer Kelsey Durham can be reached at 282-2237 or Follow her on Twitter at CitizenDurham.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.