Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Congress Returns

The Capitol is seen at as Congress returns from the August recess to face work on immigration, the debt limit, funding the government, and help for victims of Hurricane Harvey, in Washington, Tuesday, Sept. 5, 2017. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)

In a show of bipartisan support, the House of Representatives on Wednesday overwhelmingly approved a $7.85 billion aid package to support recovery efforts in the aftermath of Hurricane Harvey. 

The House passed the measure by a 419-3 vote. The lone "nay" votes were Republican Reps. Justin Amash, Andy Biggs and Thomas Massie. 

New York's congressional delegation unanimously supported the disaster assistance. U.S. Rep. John Katko, a Syracuse-area Republican, said last week that there wouldn't be revenge levied against Texas after several members of the state's delegation, most notably U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz, opposed a relief package for New York in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy in 2012. 

U.S. Rep. Elise Stefanik, a North Country Republican, also supported the help for Texas. She recognized volunteers from her district that have aided Harvey relief efforts and constituents who have donated to various charities. 

She also praised soldiers from Fort Drum who have been deployed to Texas to assist with the recovery effort. 

"The federal government needs to provide disaster relief for situations like this, and as Hurricane Irma moves closer to the United States, it's important that Congress signals that we will support relief from these devastating natural disasters," Stefanik, R-Willsboro, said. 

The measure includes $7.4 billion for the Federal Emergency Management Agency's disaster relief fund. An additional $450 million would be provided to the Small Business Administration for its disaster loans program. 

While the House acted Wednesday, it appears Harvey aid will be included in a larger bill that will fund the government for three months and raise the debt ceiling — two other issues Congress must address in September. 

Here is how New York's House delegation voted on the Harvey aid package: 


Rep. Yvette Clarke (D), Rep. Chris Collins (R), Rep. Joseph Crowley (D), Rep. Dan Donovan (R), Rep. Eliot Engel (D), Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D), Rep. John Faso (R), Rep. Brian Higgins (D), Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D), Rep. John Katko (R), Rep. Peter King (R), Rep. Nita Lowey (D), Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D), Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D), Rep. Gregory Meeks (D), Rep. Grace Meng (D), Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D), Rep. Tom Reed (R), Rep. Kathleen Rice (D), Rep. Jose Serrano (D), Rep. Louise Slaughter (D), Rep. Elise Stefanik (R), Rep. Claudia Tenney (R), Rep. Paul Tonko (D), Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D), Rep. Lee Zeldin (R)




Rep. Tom Suozzi (D)