Election Day

People vote at Sacred Heart Church in Owasco Nov. 6, 2018.

Voters weighed in Tuesday as Cayuga County’s villages as well as Jordan and Skaneateles in Onondaga County held elections, with races for mayor, trustee, and in one case, village justice.

Out of the races, only two were contested, with many incumbents going unopposed or newcomers taking vacated seats without a challenge. Some results were not reported by press time.

Village of Jordan

The only village with a race for a justice position, Jordan voters elected Michael Weirs to the position with 36 votes. Mark Gustafson and Casey Brim were both elected to four-year term trustee positions with 39 and 41 votes, respectively.

Village of Skaneateles 

In the race for two, four-year term trustee positions, incumbent Gregg Eriksen won re-election with 121 total votes, and Kathleen Zapata was elected with 118 total votes. There was one write-in vote for Steven Babbles. Incumbent Sue Dove did not seek re-election.

Village of Union Springs

All three incumbents in the races for mayor and two trustee positions ran unopposed, easily winning re-election. Mayor Francis “Bud” Shattuck received 26 votes. Trustees Bill Boyd Jr. and Marion Case both received 27 votes. The terms of all three positions last until April 2021.

Village of Weedsport

Register for more free articles
Stay logged in to skip the surveys

No candidates officially appeared on the ballot in Weedsport in the special election to fill the remaining three years of Chris Lukins' term after he resigned last December, so all votes received were write-ins. Chad Platten won with 63 votes, followed by John Clark with 48. Francis Gross and Robert Jorolemon both received one vote. One blank ballot was turned in. ​

Village of Cato

Two village trustees were elected to four-year terms, with incumbent Donald Thompson taking 17 votes and newcomer Nicole Moose 15. Incumbent Donald Hoyt, who was not seeking re-election, received two write-ins.

Village of Cayuga

Mayor William Sherman, running unopposed, received 88 votes for the two-year position. With three candidates vying for two two-year terms, Christopher Ryan won with 86 votes, as did incumbent Donald Wilson Jr. Incumbent Trustee Tara Fricano received 54 votes. Only a small number of write-in votes were received, with Helen Day receiving the most, seven, for mayor and four for Robin Richardson as trustee.

Village of Port Byron

Mayor Ron Wilson was re-elected with 69 votes, with write-in votes being cast for Jeffery Emerson (21), Michael Riley (10), Jeffrey Girvin (1) and Mickey Mouse (1).

In a race for two trustee seats, Emerson was the top vote-getter with 79, incumbent Patrick Fenton won the second seat with 58 votes and incumbent John Bell received 54 votes.

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.