vote stock

Few of the Cayuga County-area school district board of education elections will have contested races this year.

In contrast, over half of the board races last year were contested last year. The deadline this year for most school board positions was April 22.

Candidate voting for each district, plus budget propositions and any other propositions districts might have, will be held May 21. 

• The Cato-Meridian Central School District Board of Education has three three-year spots up for grabs. Board vice president Kathleen Bratt is seeking re-election and Timothy Hulbert, Kristin Cox and Nicholas Schmitt are also in the race. Members Monica Waite — who joined the board in 2017 following L. Lee Epprecht's resignation — and Todd Kacur are not seeking re-election.

• The Jordan-Elbridge Central School District board has three three-year terms available. Board vice president Karen Guerrette is running again, and Jodelle May and William Childres will also be on the ballot. Members Michael Jorolemon and Pat Starratt-Baum are not seeking re-election.

• The Moravia Central School District board features three open three-year positions and one one-year position. Member Jim Struble resigned last year and former member Terry Thompson was selected to fill that spot until this year. Board vice president Shawn Becker, and incumbents Thompson, Jeffrey Carmichael and Karin Dillon are all running. 

Register for more free articles
Stay logged in to skip the surveys

• The Port Byron Central School District has two three-year board seats open. Todd Delaney and incumbent Christopher Recckio are pursuing spots, while Roger Sevilla isn't seeking re-election.

• The Skaneateles Central School District has two three-year board spots. Incumbent Thomas Lambdin is running, as is Danielle Fleckenstein. Margaret Usdansky Niebuhr is not running for re-election.

• The Southern Central School District board has three open three-year positions. Board vice president Susan Gloss and Matthew Bennett, both incumbents, are running, as is Bruce Kopp, who had served on the board before but lost his spot last year. Current member Ann LaFave is not seeking re-election.

•  The Union Springs Central School District has three open three-year board seats. Board president Barry Schwarting and incumbents Robin McKay and David (Randy) Morehouse are all running.

• The Weedsport Central School District Board of Education has two seats open, one with a five-year term and another with a two-year term, after member Ron Springer resigned in February. Wendy Bannister, Chad Mitchell and Linda Simmons are all angling for spots. Board president Matthew Stark is not running for re-election.

The deadline for petitions to run for the Auburn Enlarged City School District Board of Education is May 1.

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Staff writer Kelly Rocheleau can be reached at (315) 282-2243 or kelly.rocheleau@lee.net. Follow him on Twitter @KellyRocheleau.